Board selects finalists for vacancies

December 21, 2022

At the Dec. 20 Bend Park and Recreation District’s board meeting, seven applicants were selected as finalists for the vacant board positions.

Due to resignations by Ariel Méndez and Jason Kropf, there are two board positions to be filled by appointment. The appointed board members will complete the terms of service that end on June 30, 2023 (with seats on the election ballot in May 2023).

The finalists were selected from a pool of 21 applicants who submitted interest letters and responses to questions. Finalists are:

  • Donna Owens
  • Jodie Barram
  • Betsy Tucker
  • Elizabeth Hughes Weide
  • Robin Vora
  • Steve Jorgensen
  • Daniel Galanaugh

Finalists will be invited to make 5-minute presentations with brief questions and answers at the Jan. 3 board meeting.

“As a community member, to see a call for public service be answered with such enthusiasm by high-quality candidates is inspiring and humbling,” said Deb Schoen, chair of the board of directors.  “Applications were submitted by those who have advocated for parks, trails and open spaces in careers and other experiences. We also received interest from those who have already committed to public service and ran for elected office previously. I extend appreciation and thanks to all applicants.”

Selections are expected at the Jan. 3 meeting following presentations, and the new board members will be sworn in at the same meeting.